Allow DISABLING of workflow steps, instead of Deletion

Idea created by Chad Brown on Feb 2, 2018
    New Idea
    Score0

    It would be great to be able to DISABLE workflow steps in a Catalog Item, instead of having to delete them. This would reduce the number of copies of Catalog Items laying around, would allow better testing of workflows, and provide a "history" of changes without having to reveal the audit.

     

    • As it stands, when testing the addition of a single, or pair of functions, to a workflow
      • we have to create a different catalog item
      • change default assignee
      • send out notifications we are testing and to ignore the workflow items that aren't part of the testing

     

    • With the able to disable workflow items, we could disable everything not applicable to our testing, run the test, and then re-enable the workflow steps.

     

    • Also, when testing, we can disable something, run the process, see how it works and then re-enable. Otherwise I have to delete a step and then re-create it. That is a lot of work on our end.

     

    • Another value to this would be disabling a part of the work flow that is no longer needed, or is temporarily not needed, like an approval step that is bypassed for bulk requests
      • we get a spreadsheet to put in 550 service requests to update legal documents
      • we have approval in an Incident with the spreadsheet attached
      • we could disable the Manager approval step
      • import the 550 requests through the API
      • then re-enable the Manager approval for one-offs
    • As it stands
      • I have to clone the existing request
      • remove that workflow step
      • modify an API script to point to a different Service Catalog item
      • import the requests, then correct the API script.
    What problem will this feature solve?:
    This would greatly enhance the process of building, testing, and modifying workflows. It would allow some adhoc modifications without permanently hosing things.